Site Number: 6017

Date of Survey: 09/15/2019
Address: 904
Number of Structures: 1
Construction Date: 1937
Current Use of Primary Building: Single Family
Historic Use of Primary Building: Single Family
Secondary Building:
Style of Primary Building: Tudor Revival

Number of Stories: 1.5
Width (bays): 2
Foundation Material: Concrete
Depth (rooms): 4
Structural System: Frame
Wall Cladding Material: wood shingles
Roof Shape: Gable
Roof Material: asphalt shingle

Decorative Details/Unique Features:

Brick chimney on primary elevation, arched door frame that is off-centered, cross gabled, gabled dormers on north elevation, steeply pitched roof

Evidence of Integrity Location/Materials:

Most looks replaced or new with little weathering

Additions/Alternations to Primary Building:

Windows replaced with double hung sash 4/1 with muntins and mullions looking to be in good shape, building permit existent which states roofing replacement in 1959

Condition of Primary Building: Good
Observable Threats: large trees
Compatibility with Adjacent Land Uses:

Good similar stories and bays but does not fit style of neighborhood, use conflicts with restaurant Sunken Well which is one neighboring building

Potential NR Eligibility: Contributing
Evidence of Construction Date:

Unfortunately there is no indication of where in the Clerk's Office to find the deed which details the dwelling's contemporary owner Mark Bertsch coming into possession of the lot, there is a deed of trust where the legal description makes reference to a drawing from a survey of site but it also does not explain where this is recorded, there are also no surviving building permits for the structure with the only reference to the dwelling being a repair to the roofing in 1959, therefore the build date was taken from FredGIS and this date is supported by the fact that the dwelling appears on a Sanborn map from 1947

Other Comments/Salient Details:


Protected Area

This content is password-protected. Please verify with a password to unlock the content.