Number of Stories: 0
Width (bays): 0
Foundation Material: Concrete
Depth (rooms): 0
Structural System: brick
Wall Cladding Material: stone
Decorative Details/Unique Features:
The lot includes part of the Rappahannock River Heritage Trail, which is an asphalt path with lanes that go in both directions. Included with the main lot is a small lot which has a continuation of the trail that intersects with Princess Anne Street.
On the Caroline St. side of the lot, next to 5010, are the ruins of the municipal hydroelectric plant called the City Electric Light Works. This is the structure that is referred to as the "primary structure," even though it is just ruins. Because of this, it is not possible to denote a roof shape or material.
Interpretive signs for Germania Mill (lot 5014) and for the hydroelectric plant are on opposite sides of the asphalt trail.
Evidence of Integrity Location/Materials:
What is left of the hydroelectric plant is a masonry wall with a hole in it, as well as a concrete pit in front of the wall and surrounded by metal fence.
Additions/Alternations to Primary Building:
Condition of Primary Building: Poor
Observable Threats: none
Compatibility with Adjacent Land Uses:
The Rappahannock Heritage Trail that cuts through the lot is compatible with the Canal Path off of Princess Anne St. and also with the continuation of the Heritage Trail along Caroline St.
The ruins' industrial origin is compatible with the adjacent industrial Germania Mill (5014) and with the two factories, 5010 and 5039, further up Caroline St.
Potential NR Eligibility: Contributing
Evidence of Construction Date:
The interpretive sign adjacent to the ruins, called "Hydroelectricity Brings Changes to Fredericksburg," states that the facility was built in 1901.