5039-Fall2017

Site Number: 5039

Date of Survey: 09/22/2017
Address: 1700
Number of Structures: 1
Construction Date: 1887
Current Use of Primary Building: Commercial
Historic Use of Primary Building: Industrial
Secondary Building:
Style of Primary Building: Industrial



Number of Stories: 1
Width (bays): 14
Foundation Material: Brick
Depth (rooms): 4
Structural System: brick
Wall Cladding Material: brick, cement
Roof Shape: Flat
Roof Material: other

Decorative Details/Unique Features:

Brick dentils, common bond, larger cement dentils, brick faux buttresses, cement band above windows at front facade. Paneled windows with middle section that swings outwards.


Evidence of Integrity Location/Materials:

Windows are replacements, doors as well, some missing brick sections on older part. Missing walkway to door on left, replacement windows.


Additions/Alternations to Primary Building:

3 possible periods of construction, the older section further from Herndon street, then a newer part closer to Herndon st, then a modern section on corner of lot at Caroline and Herndon. 1 room deep, 2 bay wide brick outbuilding at left of main building. Outbuilding has sign that says 'The Copper Shop' and a significant exterior end chimney to the left of the entrance.


Condition of Primary Building: Excellent
Observable Threats: none
Compatibility with Adjacent Land Uses:

Building is not compatible in use, as it is former industrial turned commercial, but It is similar in its brick style.


Potential NR Eligibility: Contributing
Evidence of Construction Date:

Both V-CRIS and the sign outside of the building agree that the building was originally constructed in 1887.

Other Comments/Salient Details:

Protected Area

This content is password-protected. Please verify with a password to unlock the content.