5024-Fall2017

Site Number: 5024

Date of Survey: 09/18/2017
Address: 1919
Number of Structures: 1
Construction Date: 1961
Current Use of Primary Building: Commercial
Historic Use of Primary Building: Commercial
Secondary Building:
Style of Primary Building: Industrial



Number of Stories: 1
Width (bays): 3
Foundation Material: Concrete
Depth (rooms): 8
Structural System: brick
Wall Cladding Material: brick, cement
Roof Shape: Flat
Roof Material: other

Decorative Details/Unique Features:

There is evidence of a filled in window on 5017 site. There are large, single pane windows at the shorter end that are indicative of the auto era. The front of the building is painted blue and the back is painted yellow. There are four garages for the auto company and one for the tattoo parlor. The tattoo parlor windows are reflective so you can't see inside. There is also a metal awning on 5016 side.


Evidence of Integrity Location/Materials:

There is a filled in window which decreases the integrity of the building. Some windows facing the street and partially on the side of the building next to Central Station are huge single panes, while along the side of 5016, there are multi-paned windows which are made of original material.


Additions/Alternations to Primary Building:

It is all one structure but each company is painted different colors to differentiate each shop. There is a single, one-room addition which is painted cement block and has two windows.


Condition of Primary Building: Fair
Observable Threats: none
Compatibility with Adjacent Land Uses:

The architecture is very similar to commercial structures on either side of lot.


Potential NR Eligibility: Contributing
Evidence of Construction Date:

Tax records from 1961 have record of a "tire shop bldg" on the "White Plains" land which was owned by Carl D. Silver.

Other Comments/Salient Details:

None.

Protected Area

This content is password-protected. Please verify with a password to unlock the content.