Site Number: 5023

Date of Survey: 09/20/2018
Address: 1608
Number of Structures: 2
Construction Date: 1940
Current Use of Primary Building: Single Family
Historic Use of Primary Building: Single Family
Secondary Building: Garage
Style of Primary Building: Cape Cod

Number of Stories: 1.5
Width (bays): 6
Foundation Material: Concrete
Depth (rooms): 2
Structural System: brick
Wall Cladding Material: wood clapboards, stone
Roof Shape: Gable
Roof Material: slate

Decorative Details/Unique Features:

Hand cut slate roof. Pilasters around door, functional shutters with dogs, concrete sills; inset entry door with side paneling and 5- light transom; stone lintel with keystone above windows, decorative shutters, 1/1 double-hung windows; curved stone wall of ashler, rockfaced sandstone laid in an irregular course; slate walkway, stone outside-end chimney.

Evidence of Integrity Location/Materials:

Good integrity, original materials in good condition.

Additions/Alternations to Primary Building:

Concerte block garage with asphalt shingles. 2 car garage shared with adjacent lot. Addition on northwest facade of structure.

Condition of Primary Building: Good
Observable Threats: large trees
Compatibility with Adjacent Land Uses:

Sits in line with neighboring structures, Compatible style, materials, size and use as other structures in area.

Potential NR Eligibility: Contributing
Evidence of Construction Date:

Building Permits, City of Fredericksburg; UMW Historic Resources;
Cook, Roy C/LC Mitchell/res/5800/brick veneer, concrete foundation (stone walls were used instead)

Other Comments/Salient Details:

Building Permits, May 1952, Addition; C.W. LeGette, built a lean-to on the garage; UMW Historic Resources. dla


Protected Area

This content is password-protected. Please verify with a password to unlock the content.