5014-Fall2017

Site Number: 5014

Date of Survey: 09/25/2017
Address: 1900
Number of Structures: 1
Construction Date: 1876
Current Use of Primary Building: Vacant
Historic Use of Primary Building: Industrial
Secondary Building:
Style of Primary Building: Industrial



Number of Stories: 4
Width (bays): 3
Foundation Material: Concrete
Depth (rooms): 2
Structural System: brick
Wall Cladding Material: cement
Roof Shape: Flat
Roof Material: other

Decorative Details/Unique Features:

Ghost of Germania Mills office sign on front facade. Ghost of another sign in the middle of the building on the front façade.
Lots of graffiti and debris hanging on the exterior facades of the mill. Two ghosts of some sort of structural support system hang from the front façade.
Entrance made of concrete and wood leading to a seller or basement located on the front facade.
Boarded up windows and doors.
Side facade has pipes that hang out of the structure and might have been used for some sort of electrical system.


Evidence of Integrity Location/Materials:

No glass in windows and lots of graffiti. The structural integrity of the building is intact because there haven't been any additions, but cosmetically, it has changed due to neglect.


Additions/Alternations to Primary Building:

None


Condition of Primary Building: Poor
Observable Threats: large trees, neglect
Compatibility with Adjacent Land Uses:

Purpose of the building is industrial with which fits in with the rest of the surrounding lots along Caroline and Princess Anne Streets.


Potential NR Eligibility: Contributing
Evidence of Construction Date:

According to an interpretive sign adjacent to the mill, called "Germania Mill: Recovering from the Civil War," the original structure partially burned in 1876, but was quickly rebuilt.

Other Comments/Salient Details:

none

Protected Area

This content is password-protected. Please verify with a password to unlock the content.