5003-Fall2017

Site Number: 5003

Date of Survey: 09/22/2017
Address: 1611
Number of Structures: 1
Construction Date: 1868
Current Use of Primary Building: Commercial
Historic Use of Primary Building: Commercial
Secondary Building:
Style of Primary Building: Commercial



Number of Stories: 1
Width (bays): 5
Foundation Material: Brick
Depth (rooms): 6
Structural System: Frame
Wall Cladding Material: brick, cement
Roof Shape: Flat
Roof Material: other

Decorative Details/Unique Features:

Penny struck mortar on bricks, brick insets, cloth awnings on front facade and left side, metal sign with 'olde town steak and seafood' on front, wheelchair walkway up to front door


Evidence of Integrity Location/Materials:

All materials seem present, no apparent material changes


Additions/Alternations to Primary Building:

Front section is addition to older rear section. Front section also has penny struck mortar while the back section does not.


Condition of Primary Building: Excellent
Observable Threats: none
Compatibility with Adjacent Land Uses:

Building is compatible with adjacent proprieties and is connected to the neighboring property, 3030 at the rear through a walkway.


Potential NR Eligibility: Contributing
Evidence of Construction Date:

A newspaper article in the Fredericksburg Ledger from July, 1868 that was put to announce the sale of the lot before construction.

Other Comments/Salient Details:

Protected Area

This content is password-protected. Please verify with a password to unlock the content.