Site Number: 4043

Date of Survey: 09/24/2017
Address: 311
Number of Structures: 1
Construction Date: 1958
Current Use of Primary Building: Commercial
Historic Use of Primary Building: Industrial
Secondary Building:
Style of Primary Building: Industrial

Number of Stories: 1
Width (bays): 8
Foundation Material: Concrete
Depth (rooms): 2
Structural System: Frame
Wall Cladding Material: brick
Roof Shape: Flat
Roof Material: other

Decorative Details/Unique Features:

The awning over the front door
The company logo

Evidence of Integrity Location/Materials:

Original windows on attached garage
Original roofs
On the office building, windows look new

Additions/Alternations to Primary Building:

Office space looks like addition to attached garage

Condition of Primary Building: Good
Observable Threats: none
Compatibility with Adjacent Land Uses:

Fits well with other buildings in the area like 4033 across the street

Potential NR Eligibility: Contributing
Evidence of Construction Date:

The May 1947 Sanborn map and the 1958 land book indicate that the original structure on lot 4043 was built between those years. The addition on lot 4044 was built between 1958 and 1984, as shown by the 1958 land book and the 1984 plat map (found at the Fredericksburg Circuit Court Archives).

Other Comments/Salient Details:

Both are 4043 and 4044, attached together

Protected Area

This content is password-protected. Please verify with a password to unlock the content.