4017-Fall2017

Site Number: 4017

Date of Survey: 09/17/2017
Address: 2415
Number of Structures: 2
Construction Date: 1940
Current Use of Primary Building: Commercial
Historic Use of Primary Building: Commercial
Secondary Building: Commercial
Style of Primary Building: Commercial



Number of Stories: 1
Width (bays): 9
Foundation Material: Concrete Block
Depth (rooms): 1
Structural System: Frame
Wall Cladding Material: cement
Roof Shape: Flat
Roof Material: other

Decorative Details/Unique Features:

Electric signs
Large single pane window glass
Company sign/logo
Big garage doors


Evidence of Integrity Location/Materials:

Original cement siding
Original windows on rear of building
Windows filled in on north elevation


Additions/Alternations to Primary Building:

Storage garage on rear of building


Condition of Primary Building: Good
Observable Threats: none
Compatibility with Adjacent Land Uses:

Front of building fits with other commercial buildings
Rear of building faces mostly residential


Potential NR Eligibility: Contributing
Evidence of Construction Date:

The Feb. 1927 Sanborn map and the 1946 plat map (found at the Fredericksburg Circuit Court Archives) show that the structure was built between those years. Building Permit #505, issued on 23 July 1940, shows the construction of a new garage for the auto company.

Other Comments/Salient Details:

Protected Area

This content is password-protected. Please verify with a password to unlock the content.