3003-Fall2017

Site Number: 3003

Date of Survey: 09/17/2017
Address: 2200
Number of Structures: 1
Construction Date: 1953
Current Use of Primary Building: Restaurant/Food
Historic Use of Primary Building: Restaurant/Food
Secondary Building:
Style of Primary Building: Commercial



Number of Stories: 1
Width (bays): 3
Foundation Material: Concrete Block
Depth (rooms): 2
Structural System: brick
Wall Cladding Material: stucco
Roof Shape: Flat
Roof Material: tile

Decorative Details/Unique Features:

There is neon signage on the top of the structure which reads Carl’s. The roof has a large overhang with neon lighting underneath. On the front facade there is a large overhang that provides shelter. There is cursive black signage over the glass windows. There is rectangular and L shaped concrete seating surrounding the concrete pad in front of the building. There is tile cladding on the lower front of the building.


Evidence of Integrity Location/Materials:

This building appears to have original materials and does not appear to have been moved.


Additions/Alternations to Primary Building:

There is no evidence of additions to the original structure.


Condition of Primary Building: Good
Observable Threats: none
Compatibility with Adjacent Land Uses:

This structure is surrounded by commercial use primarily. It is located adjacent to Keystone Coffee and Mason Dixon Cafe.


Potential NR Eligibility: Individually Eligible
Evidence of Construction Date:

The date of construction was stated in an article in the Historic Fredericksburg Foundation paper dated Jan/Feb. 2002. ("Carl's Listed on Virginia Landmarks Register") This resource was found in the Virginiana Room in the Central Rappahannock Library.

Other Comments/Salient Details:

There is large vintage neon signage on top of the building that can be easily seen from either direction of Princess Anne Street.

Edited by SB and CES

Protected Area

This content is password-protected. Please verify with a password to unlock the content.