Site Number: 2038

Date of Survey: 09/22/2017
Address: 304
Number of Structures: 2
Construction Date: 1952
Current Use of Primary Building: Single Family
Historic Use of Primary Building: Single Family
Secondary Building: Shed
Style of Primary Building: Minimal Traditional

Number of Stories: 2
Width (bays): 3
Foundation Material: Concrete Block
Depth (rooms): 2
Structural System: Frame
Wall Cladding Material: wood clapboards
Roof Shape: Gable
Roof Material: asphalt shingle

Decorative Details/Unique Features:

Cement stairs up to front door with metal railing. Metal railing has metal "R" affixed on the two flat sides of the railing. Left half of house is set further back from the street and has a slightly smaller gabel. Corners are painted white, opposed to most of the houses brown. Porch on left side of the house with its own tiny gable, AstroTurf flooring, and lamp attached to the ceiling. The porch also has white iron railings and stairs to the back yard. Brick chimney.

Evidence of Integrity Location/Materials:

Majority of house looks to be original. The roof has likely been replaced.

Additions/Alternations to Primary Building:

No apparent additions and only the roof appears to not be original.

Condition of Primary Building: Fair
Observable Threats: none
Compatibility with Adjacent Land Uses:

Canal street is mostly residences and it fits with that, no so much with the princess Anne street facing businesses.

Potential NR Eligibility: Contributing
Evidence of Construction Date:

Found in the UMW Historic Preservation Resources in the City of Fredericksburg Permit to Construct, Alter, or Repair 1950-1960-C.

Other Comments/Salient Details:


Protected Area

This content is password-protected. Please verify with a password to unlock the content.